Home > Commentaries on TTC > 67- the summer of love

67- the summer of love

Lao was a modest old goat. He begins this chapter by writing, Everybody says that my way is great. Even with my hand off my heart, I couldn’t even begin to say the same thing.Perhaps Lao, was referring to a premonition of Sinatra’s My Way; perhaps he meant my Way. Or maybe he was misheard and he was boasting of his culinary skills and his aptitude in getting the perfect consistency to his whey. Whatever it was, he follows it up by qualifying [great] but improbable. And how about this for ambiguity: All greatness/ is improbable./What’s probable/is tedious and petty. Does improbable here mean aspirational (and therefore desirable) or unlikely (and therefore a pointless distraction)? As Cilla Black would have said, You decide.

Lao advises us that we should be guided by three treasures, all of which begin with M. Mercy, modesty and moderation. And the bedrock upon which we should cultivate these qualities is the bedrock of compassion. Translated into the language learning environment, this is probably entirely in keeping with the unconditional positive regard advocated by Carl Rogers. I think it’s worth pointing out that the target of this unconditional positive regard can be found as much within yourself as within others.

A rather lovey-dovey conclusion, I am ashamed to say. This decaff is clearly having more an effect upon me than I expected. I have a packet of espresso waiting for me when this has finished. In the meantime, love one another as I have loved you. But always keep an AK-47 within reach.

Categories: Commentaries on TTC
  1. March 17, 2011 at 10:21

    What lovely thoughts this morning. So if decaf is lovey-dovey, is espresso the polar opposite? I’m wondering about the AK-47!

    Funnily enough, I was reading about Carl Rogers yesterday; techniques for research interviews.

    Happy St. Patricks!

  2. March 17, 2011 at 10:22

    Hmm.

    St. Patrick’s, I mean, I believe there’s only one.

    ; )

    • dfogarty
      March 17, 2011 at 15:17

      You were presumably referring to the Catholic St Patrick AND the Protestant one. I’m glad to see that you are upholding this blog’s firm convictions in non-sectarian inclusion. Happy St Pat’s to you, too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

