Home > Tao for teachers > TWENTY

TWENTY

Abandon your need for professional development and watch how your troubles will end.

Newly qualified, vastly experienced – where’s the real difference?

The bright and the dull – aren’t they the same?

Do you really aspire to be the best teacher?

What a waste of your time!

Everyone has the answers, but I don’t have any.

I know nothing. Really! I don’t have a clue.

The others are confident, everyone’s bright.

But I doubt everything, there’s no light from me.

Their right turn of phrase and their incisive thought

outshine my dull and confused foolishness.

I continue to drift in all directions and none

while they plan and notate the lessons to come.

They’re so busy! I sit here and wait for my lesson,

drawing strength from my ignorance.

 

*My original commentary on verse 20 can be found here

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

